Lineage is important… Right?!

Lineage is important right?
I mean you hear so many stories of McDojos popping up all over the place and people buying grades so picking the right place to train can be a tad daunting for some folk.

I started training in Jiu Jitsu in 2010, previously I had dabbled in no gi submission wrestling but in 2010 I had the pleasure of attending 3 seminars.

I’ll start with the second seminar, this was with none other than Robert Drysdale who received his black belt in 2005, won various world championships and one of the few guys to beat Marcelo Garcia!
Robert is a cool guy, very approachable and showed some great techniques including a super tight triangle and a few moves from butterfly guard.

Now on to the first one. This was held in Inverness in which a newly promoted black belt(2009) Dave ‘Speedy’ Elliott was teaching a mixture of striking and grappling techniques. Speedy is a bit of a leg lock magician and seeing some of these blew my mind. I had never experienced leg locks before and to be shown rolling toe holds, Achilles and heel hooks scared the shit out of me… In a good way!
After his seminar a got his phone number to arrange another seminar this time at my own club and it was an instant hit, everyone loved it and for myself it sparked something… I wanted to learn Jiu Jitsu and that’s what I did.

I bought my first BJJ gi(a tatami gold weave) and started training with a team mate who was already a blue belt. Slowly a few others bought gis and in October that year 3 of us drove three and a half hours down to Newcastle for our first proper Jiu Jitsu lesson. It is fair to say I got my arse kicked for 2 hours that day but I loved every second and at the end of it Speedy put 2 stripes on my white belt and from there on in Speedy has been my instructor, mentor and friend.

Back to lineage.

Speedy received his black belt from Marc Walder(along with 2 others Jude Samuel and Rick Young) was the first BJJ black belt in the UK. In attendance that day was Marc’s instructor Mestre Mauricio Gomes(Roger Gracie’s father).

You could say I’m coming from a really good Brazilian Jiu Jitsu lineage and something I am very proud of,
hopefully I can represent them in the best way I can.

Mitsuyo “Count Koma” Maeda –
Carlos Gracie, Sr. –
Helio Gracie –
Rolls Gracie –
Mauricio Motta Gomes –
Marc Walder –
Dave ‘Speedy’ Elliott –
me.

2015/01/img_1229.jpg
Speedy and I the day I received my blue belt.

2015/01/img_0143.jpg
Marc Walder

2 thoughts on “Lineage is important… Right?!”

Leave a Reply

